Announcement of 2008 Outstanding Scientist Awards.

Prof. Watchara Kasinrerk and Prof. Apiwat Mutirangura have been named 2008 Outstanding Scientist by the Foundation for the Promotion of Science and Technology under the Patronage of His Majesty the King.


Watcharaok1Dr. Watchara Kasinrerk is Professor of Faculty of Associated Medical Sciences, Chiang Mai University and also Director of Biomedical Technology Research Center a specialized unit co-established by BIOTEC and Chiang Mai University. Prof. Watchara has utilized and applied the produced monoclonal antibodies for development of high performance immunodiagnostic kits for several diseases. Recently, he has developed a novel non-flow cytometric method for enumeration of CD4+ lymphocytes. This method is therefore an alternative for enumerating CD4+ lymphocytes for assessing HIV/AIDS patients, particularly in limited-resource countries. In collaboration with Assoc. Prof. Chatchai Tayapiwatana and Prof. Suthat Fuchareon, he has developed an immunochromatographic strip test for rapid screening of alpha-thalassemia 1 carriers. The developed method is simple and need no sophisticated equipment and is suitable for screening and ruling out of alpha-thalassemia 1 carrier in the mass populations. The developed immunodiagnostics have now already transferred to a private company for commercialization. For more information of the achievements of Prof. Watchara Kasinrerk, please click here.


ApiwatDr. Apiwat Mutirangura is Professor of Faculty of Medicine, Chulalongkorn University. Prof. Apiwat and his colleagues started molecular genetics research at Chulalongkorn University to explore cancer biology in 1994. Since then, his group has reported 68 original scientific articles, and to date these articles have received more than 1235 citations. More importantly, his group discovered several unique molecular genetic events related to human diseases, and these discoveries have contributed to the advancement of research, public health and medical service. His group discovered several molecular genetic events including the mechanism of UPD 15; telomerase activity in premalignant lesions; EBV DNA in NPC patients’ sera; human papilloma viral DNA in cervical cancer patients’ plasma; new NPC susceptibility genes; polymeric immunoglobulin receptor (PIGR) and HLA-E, SHP-1 methylation in normal epithelium and demethylation in psoriasis; promoter methylation of several genes in NPC; cervical cancer and TTC12 methylation in leukemia; genome wide methylation patterns and EDSB methylation status. For more information of the achievements of Prof. Apiwat Mutirangura, please click here.

In addition to Outstanding Scientists, the Foundation also announced five Young Scientist Awards to Assist. Prof. Narattaphol Charoenphandhu; Dr. Naratip Vittayakorn; Assist. Prof. Burin Gumjudpai; Assist. Prof. Satit Saejung and Assist. Prof. Artiwan Shotipruk.



Posted on 25 August 2008.