BIOTEC researchers won the 2010 NRCT Invention Award.

BIOTEC research team won the 2010 NRCT Invention Award for their development of “Antibody Array for Food Safety” from the National Research Council of Thailand (NRCT). Announced on 14 January 2010, the Award recognized 35 outstanding inventions, out of 160 applications.

Foodborne pathogens are serious threats to human health and food industries. Conventional detecting methods are time-consuming and labor-intensive. An inexpensive antibody array was developed to simultaneously detect three highly-regulated foodborne pathogenic bacteria (Escherichia coli O157:H7, Salmonella spp., and Listeria monocytogenes) using a novel chemiluminescent NanoDetector. The sensitivities of detection are compared to those of a standard ELISA method. No cross-reactivity in the detection among bacteria tested in this study was observed. Relative to other antibody-based method, this system of antibody array in a combination to NanoDetector has advantages of a much shorter assay time of only one hour and much lower required amounts of antibodies. A user-friendly NanoDetector allows quantitative measurements which facilitate rapid screening process in the real food industries.


Award recipients from BIOTEC, (from L-R) Dr. Plearnpis Luxananil, Dr. Oraprapai Gajanandana, Dr. Kanyawim Kirtikara, Dr. Nitsara Karoonuthaisiri, Ms. Umaporn Uawisetwathana and Mr. Ratthaphol Charlermroj

In conjunction with 2010 Inventor Award, NRCT also announced the Thesis Award to recognize doctoral thesis research of outstanding quality and achievement. Three BIOTEC researchers have been named the recipients of the 2010 NRCT Thesis prize. Dr. Jittima Piriyapongsa was awarded Distinguished Thesis Award for her thesis on “Origin and Evolution of Eukaryotic Gene Sequences Derived from Transposable Elements”. Two Excellent Thesis Awards went to Dr. Nanchaya Wanasen for her thesis titled “Immuopathogenic Mechanisms of Non-Healing-Cutaneous Leishmaniasis Caused by Leishmania amazonensis” and Dr. Sumarin Soonsanga for her thesis on “Sensing of Organic Hydroperoxide by Bacillus subtilis Ohr R”.


Posted on 18 January 2010.