BIOTEC Researcher awarded Marie Curie International Incoming Fellowship (IIF)


Dr. Nitsara Karoonuthaisiri, Head of BIOTEC Microarray Laboratory, has been awarded a Marie Curie International Incoming Fellowship (IIF) from the European Union FP7 to work on a project entitled “Pathfinder - Rapid and Reliable Detection of Foodborne Pathogens by Employing Multiplexing Biosensor Technology”.  The project will focus on the development of innovative means of detecting important pathogenic organisms associated with food poisoning. This will be achieved using biosensor technology capable of detecting many different pathogens simultaneously. 

Nitsara will bring her skills in microarrays and pathogen detection and lead a team of scientists at the Host Institute at Queen‘s University Belfast (UK). She will work closely with the Institute Director, Professor Chris Elliott, an eminent European researcher in the field of advanced diagnostics on this two-year project, starting from August 2011 to July 2013 followed by a one year return phase. The outcomes of this research will be extremely important to Europe, as food poisoning affects many millions of citizens each year and improved diagnostics has been identified as one of the key topics requiring more research activity.  

About International Incoming Fellowships (IIF)
Marie Curie Incoming International Fellowships are individual fellowships that aim to attract top-class researchers from third countries to work and undertake research training in Europe from 1 to 2 years (incoming phase), with a view to developing mutually-beneficial research co-operation. In the case of emerging and transition economies and developing countries, the scheme may assist fellows to return to their country of origin for, typically, half the duration of the first phase (re-integration phase). Proposals from all areas of scientific and technological research of interest to the European Community are accepted and there are no pre-defined priority areas. For more information, please visit 


Posted on 28 April 2011.