14th A-IMBN Annual Conference: Life Science and Frontiers of Biorefinery Technology

BIOTEC in collaboration with the Asia-Pacific International Molecular Biology Network (A-IMBN) organized the 14th A-IMBN Annual Conference: Life Science and Frontiers of Biorefinery Technology on 1 – 2 March 2012 at Sirindhorn Science Home, Thailand Science Park. The Conference was attended by 122 participants from Thailand and abroad.
The objective of A-IMBN Annual Conference is to promote the development of scientific and technical excellence amongst scientists and institutions dedicated to molecular biology and genetic engineering research, with particular focus on Asia and the Pacific Rim. As Thailand and along with several other countries in Asia are major producers of agricultural products, and thus have great potential to adopt biorefinery converting biomass to fuels and other value-added chemicals. Thus, this year conferences included Biorefinery as additional theme to the traditional of A-IMBN conference which focused on biomedical sciences.


On biorefinery technology, presentations on biorefinery trends in Asia, platform technology for biorefinery, and biorefinery products were covered by researchers and experts from various countries in Asia. The last session on research-industry-investment was conducted as a panel discussion by Prof. Chis Tan, A-IMBN Advisor, Ms. Upsorn Pliansinchai, Vice President-Research and Development of Mitr Phol Sugarcane Research Center and Mr. Yuthasak Kanasawat, Director of Investment Strategy and Policy Bureau of Thailand Board of Investment. On biomedical theme, presentations on molecular oriental medicine, molecular biology of cancer and immunological diseases and BIOTEC research highlight on biomedical science were covered by scientists and experts from China, Hong Kong, Japan, and Thailand.
Apart of biorefinery and biomedical session, A-IMBN Governing Council also presented awards to distinguished speakers in this event namely Authur Kornberg Memorial Lecture Award to Prof. Jinqiu Zhou from China, Distinguished A-IMBN Lecture Award to Prof. M.R. Jisnuson Svasti from Thailand; EMBO Plenary Lecture Award to Prof. Yoram Groner from Israel, and A-IMBN Research Young Investigators/ Ken-ichi Arai Award to Dr. Yu-Ming Chang from Taiwan and Prof. Xiaolong Liu from China.

Posted on 15 March 2012