BIOTEC researcher named the 2012 Young Scientist Award in Plant Molecular Biology

Dr. Sithichoke Tangphatsornruang, Head of BIOTEC Genomic Research Laboratory, is one of 3 researchers chosen by the Foundation for the Promotion of Science and Technology under the Patronage of His Majesty the King to receive the 2012 Young Scientist Award, which was officially announced on 1 August 2012 at the Siam City Hotel.


Dr. Sithichoke obtained a bachelor’s degree in Biological Sciences with second-class honors from the University of Oxford in 2000 and Ph.D. in Plant Molecular Biology from the University of Cambridge in 2004. He started his career as a researcher in BIOTEC Starch Biosynthesis Laboratory.
In 2007, Dr. Sithichoke was appointed the Head of Genomic Research Laboratory at BIOTEC Genome Institute. His main focus is on plant genetic research, specifically to improve current understanding of plant genetics by applying genomic techniques such as 1) high throughput sequencing of genomes/ transcriptomes for gene annotation and marker development, 2) genotyping to study genetic diversity, population structure and construct genetic linkage maps and 3) constructing physical maps via Bacterial Artificial Chromosome (BAC) libraries. He has actively involved in oil palm research in collaboration with scientists from Kasetsart University, Thammasart University, Institute for Research and Development (IRD-France) and Golden Tenera Company to develop markers associated with high yield, thin shell and high sex ratio. He also received funding from BIOTEC and the Rubber Research Institute of Thailand to develop molecular markers associated with drought tolerance. In this study, the high throughput SNP genotyping and physical mapping of the rubber tree genome were developed.
Dr. Sithichoke has developed research collaborations with many institutes. He took an essential role in several research projects not only in plant and agricultural science, but also applied his expertise to bioresources and biomedical molecular studies as well. To date, he has published 20 articles in peer-reviewed international journals and has been served as a reviewer for many international journals, including BMC Plant Biology, BMC Genomics, Bioinformatics, Tree Genetics & Genomes, and Gene.


The other two scientists named the 2012 Young Scientists are Assist. Prof. Dr. Sumrit Wacharasindhu from Chulalongkorn University and Dr. Worawat Meevasana from Suranaree University of Technology. The 2012 Outstanding Scientists were awarded to Prof. Dr. Piyarat Govitrapong from Mahidol University and Pro. Dr. Nipon Chattipakorn from Chiang Mai University.
The Foundation for the Promotion of Science and Technology under the Patronage of His Majesty the King was established in 1982. The Outstanding Scientist Awards and Young Scientist Awards are presented annually to recognize Thai researchers with outstanding scientific achievements and to encourage active younger researchers to perform high quality research work of significant impact to society and economy.


Posted on 1 August 2012